ECNP Negative Results Prize in Clinical Neuroscience

The Negative Results Prize in Clinical Neuroscience recognises those who have made exceptional contributions to CNS treatment development by publishing clinical research with negative findings. Winners are selected especially on the basis of the impact of their findings in helping the field to optimise its resource and investment allocation and, in doing so, advance long-term treatment development.

ECNP Award for Negative Results in Clinical Neuroscience
Extending its previous sponsorship of the Best Negative Data Prize for results in preclinical neuroscience, as of 2021 the U.S.-based non-profit research organisation Cohen Veterans Bioscience (CVB) will provide a cash prize of US$ 10,000 to accompany the award.

It is no longer possible to apply.

The deadline was 30 April 2021.

Corresponding authors could submit their papers directly via CVB portal. The review committee will select and inform the winner by 1 August.

The winner will be invited to present an Award Talk about his or her negative data results paper at the 34th ECNP Congress Hybrid, 2-5 October 2021 in Lisbon, Portugal.

For the full press announcement of the award, see here.

2019 was the award’s inaugural year. The 2019 winners were:

  • David Brown
  • Kazuyuki Nakagome
  • Joachim Cordes
  • Ronald Brenner
  • Gerhard Gründer
  • Richard S.E. Keefe
  • Robert Riesenberg
  • David P. Walling
  • Kristen Daniels
  • Lara Wang
  • Jennifer McGinniss
  • Michael Sand

For: ‘Evaluation of the Efficacy, Safety, and Tolerability of BI 409306, a Novel Phosphodiesterase 9 Inhibitor, in Cognitive Impairment in Schizophrenia: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Phase II Trial’. Click here to read the full article on Schizophrenia Bulletin 45.2, March 2019, pp 350-359.